“The Best Concert of My Life”, Public Enemy, Brixton Academy, 1989

Whenever I need to find out the latest happenings in popular culture be it books, magazines, films or TV programmes, I head to the awesome The Musings of Ondo Lady blog. Founded by journalist/marketeer/blogger Ronke Adeyemi, the site has grown to become a reputable source for those who want to stay one step ahead of the game by reading about the hottest cultural finds long before the mags cotton on. Read about Ronke’s best ever concert experience below. And you can follow her  delightful musings right here:

By Ronke Adeyemi

My favourite concert was Public Enemy in 1989, which took place at Brixton Academy. I went to see them the following year at London Arena which is now Dockland Arena – the atmosphere at both venues was electric but it was the concert at Brixton stood out to me. Not because it was on my doorstep but because the size of the academy was just right to cram in enough people to feel like we were in a real gig but also enabled us to feel like we were close to PE. Chuck D’s performance was mesmerising as usual and Black people as well as white got down to a night of dancing and jostling. No other rapper comes close to me as PE – they just had that magnetism about them with powerful beats and full of positive lyrics. A lot of so-called rappers out there now could learn a lot from them. Not mentioning any names of course.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to ““The Best Concert of My Life”, Public Enemy, Brixton Academy, 1989

  1. I recently went and saw Nas & Damian Marley and a guy standing beside me said it was the best concert he’d been to since Public Enemy…. So I guess you’re not the only one that loved it 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Best Concert of my Life – as seen in The Cocoa Diaries « The Musings of Ondo Lady

Leave a comment