Meeting Dorothy Koomson

wpid-IMAG0647.jpg

When Keysha met Dorothy

This week I met one of my writer heroes. Anyone who reads this blog will know that I’m a massive fan of Dorothy Koomson, the prolific best-selling author who has penned an impressive eight novels. On Tuesday Dorothy invited me and several other journalists to a special lunch held at Soho House to celebrate the imminent arrival of novel numero eight – The Flavours Of Love. Check out the blurb:

I’m looking for that perfect blend of flavours; the taste that used to be you. If I find it, I know you’ll come back to me.’

It’s been 18 months since my husband was murdered and I’ve decided to finish writing The Flavours of Love, the cookbook he started before he died. Everyone thinks I’m coping so well without him – they have no idea what I’ve been hiding or what I do away from prying eyes. But now that my 14-year-old daughter has confessed something so devastating it could destroy our family all over again, and my husband’s killer has started to write to me claiming to be innocent, I know it’s only a matter of time before the truth about me and what I’ve done is revealed to the world.

My name is Saffron Mackleroy and this is my story.

IMAG0652

Bedtime reading sorted…

The launch took place on a grey, soggy afternoon, and while ordinarily this wouldn’t seem like the most ideal weather, for an intimate book launch it made for the perfect cosy setting. Dorothy’s agent started proceedings with a lovely speech, paying tribute to the author’s work ethic,  bravery and ability to stretch herself and reach beyond her comfort zones. Next Dorothy read the prologue and first chapter of The Flavours of Love. As soon as she finished reading the last sentence the 15-20 strong captive audience let out an audible gasp at the unexpected twist. I’m only a few chapters in but I suspect it will be another gripping, thought-provoking, roller coaster of a read.

IMAG0646

Dorothy with another one of my media sheroes, Magic FM’s Angie Greaves.

It was lovely to finally meet Dorothy in person, we’ve had many a twitter conversation, and a lengthy conversation on the phone, but we’ve never met face to face. She’s absolutely lovely: really warm, welcoming, humble and very funny too. A lot of  women I speak to on the social networks are huge fans also, there’s a lot of love out there for Ms Koomson. Maybe meeting your heroes isn’t such a bad thing after all.

The Flavours of Love is out on Quercus Books on the 7th November, visit dorothykoomson.co.uk for updates.


for updates.

2 Comments

Filed under Bite sized news

2 responses to “Meeting Dorothy Koomson

  1. OMG I’m sooo jealous! You had a one to one :0) I’m going her event in Canada Water Library next month. Looking forward to it and that book.

  2. I love Dorothy’s books sooooo looking forward to reading this one!

Leave a Reply

